I’ve smoked up all my cigarettes
Beneath the hazy moon
Read some things that made me cry
Reminded me of you
I know I’ve cried a bucket
And I bet you’ve got one too
Wish you could see
What I see, when I can see you

I’ve offered love and freedom
(Within reason) to your soul
You’ve traded it to build a cell
You hide up in that hole
Afraid that you’re not good enough
For all the world to see
You can’t locate your happiness
So your jailer must be me

You want the things that move me
To move in your soul too
But won’t allow you to believe
That YOU are worthy. You.
So you halt my spirit’s singing
With a word, a glare, a threat
And set about to clip my wings
So I can’t leave you. Yet.

You ask me to be happy
In your cage alongside you
You’re threatened by the slightest
Peek outside to see the view
Don’t want you to be lonely
So I sit in here most nights
Pining for my happy friends
And Joy and Love and Light

While you beat yourself against the bars
And poison up your mind
With news and views of imbeciles
With no love for mankind
I can only take so much
Your story isn’t mine
I won’t share your victim’s perch
You see, I’ve done my time

I’ve found a secret passageway
That exists inside my mind
With petroglyphs of a golden bird
Her long wings laced with fire
While right now she may be burning
In a white hot intense heat
She’s not inside a fucking cage
And holding her own key

~ E

 

 

 

 

 

 

